St. Monica Church, NYC

Whenever I’m traveling, I enjoy the chance to check out churches I’ve never seen before.

 

During my Upper East Side adventure last weekend, I stopped by a a parish conveniently located literally around the corner. St. Monica’s church building was begun in the 1880s and completed in 1906. It’s in a pretty standard Gothic revival style, but the decorative elements are exceptionally good.

Thanks to recent renovations, the interior really sparkles. The freestanding altar is obviously a post-Vatican II addition, but it complements the original nicely.

The stained glass windows were one of my favorite parts. They seemed very L. C. Tiffany-esque, with their intricate detailing and the soft edges of the pictures. I wish I had had time to photograph all of them.

 

